Vegetarian Healthy Choice Frozen Meals

It has been a while since frozen meals had knocked my socks off, but while surrendering to impulsive snacking last night at 10 because I did not make enough food for dinner, I reluctantly pulled out a frozen box of Healthy Choice’s Mediterranean Pasta. I know, it’s not really snacking when one reaches over for a full serving of pasta but hey, it was only 360 calories, all-natural (according to the label) and it had lots of whole grains, beans and fruits in it. Plus, I did share some of it with Andy, so I felt less guilty about it.

Upon removing the plastic film from the microwaved tray of pasta, the sweet aroma from apple and elderberry juice and spices used to make this meal hit my olfactory receptors, thus activating my salivary glands. This dish not only looked appetizing with pops of red from dried cranberries, it also has a lot of beans. Now, Andy never liked beans but even he could not resist this dish after dunking a whole bowl of Maggi Mee Kari by himself. The saltiness from Fontina cheese gave it the right amount of kick and balance to this meal.

I’m ecstatic to find out that Healthy Choice finally made something good and substantial for vegetarians. Perhaps if you are not cheapskates like Andy and I who would think twice before spending more than $2 for a box of frozen meal, you could find something decent. I remember poring my frozen ass over aisles and aisles of frozen food at the grocery store and wished that Healthy Choice actually made something for vegetarians aside from plain old linguine alfredo and mac ‘n cheese. I know that I shouldn’t buy all these frozen stuff, since I highly advocate eating homemade and fresh food as much as we can, but when one has to get up for work at 6 a.m. and only gets home at 8 p.m. at night, aside from cutting an apple and packing it up for lunch, I really don’t want to make anything else for lunch the next day. So, that’s my lame reason for bukling under. Ha-ha. I have given them up since I was laid off anyway, and this box of frozen meal was bought prior to that unfortunate incident.

Anyway, someone at Healthy Choice must have telepathically heard me because their all-new all natural line of products consists of very exciting and mouth-watering vegetarian entrees. YIPPEE!! On their website, I found out that they now offer the following vegetarian all natural choices:

  • Mediterranean Pasta (360 calories, 45 calories from fat, 500 mg sodium, 13g protein)
  • Portabella Marsala Pasta (270 calories, 70 calories from fat, 550mg sodium, 12g protein)
  • Portabella Spinach Parmesan ( 270 calories, 70 calories from fat, 600mg sodium, 11g protein)
  • Pumpkin Squash Ravioli (300 calories, 60 calories from fat, 600mg sodium, 9g protein) – Lean Cuisine also makes a version of squash ravioli that is very good
  • Sweet Asian Potstickers (380 calories, 45 calories from fat, 600mg sodium, 8g protein)
  • Tomato Basil Penne (260 calories, 60 calories from fat, 600mg sodium, 8g protein)

The Mediterranean Pasta that I had left me feeling thoroughly satisfied and actually kinda stuffed. The sweet, sour and salty flavours tantalized my tastebuds and despite being a little salty, I thought it was worth it.

For only $2.00 from on sale at Target, I think this is a very good buy. I say give it a try🙂 Lean Cuisine, watch out!

13 responses to “Vegetarian Healthy Choice Frozen Meals

  1. Christopher J

    Actually I just had the Portabella Spinach Parmesan entree and it was pretty good, but then I looked at the ingredients list and discovered that it contained “chicken meat with juice” and “chicken fat.”

    The potstickers are vegetarian based on the ingredients list, but none of the packaging actually identify any of these entrees as such. It’s pretty lousy marketing if you ask me, and it feels pretty deceptive too!

  2. Thanks, Christopher J. I have not tried the rest of the meals, but thanks for the info. I feel cheated too!

  3. the same thing happened to me. i was eating the portabella spinach parmesan and the portabella marsala pasta for weeks b4 i discovered the chicken fat thing; then i wanted to throw up…

  4. You may want to check Healthy Choice’s website (the link’s above) that specifies that the Mediterranean Pasta, Pumpkin Squash Ravioli, Sweet Asian Potstickers, & Tomato Basic Penne are vegetarian. I agree they should have indicated that information on the box; and wish they had made the Portabella products vegetarian too. Regardless, I’m thrilled to see 4 new vegetarian frozen entrees, and ones that use whole grains, no less! I tried the Mediterranean Pasta & enjoyed it very much. I haven’t yet tried the other vegetarian products.

  5. melissa/guest

    Good review. I realize this post is 3 years old, but I’m so glad I’m not the only one who loved this meal. I was SO happy to have found something so simple and amazing, and especially vegetarian too!!! I became addicted to it and begrudgingly purchased the last of what they had on shelves when they drastically slashed the price. I knew it was near the end and I was right.😦 If they hadn’t called it “pasta” I really believe it would have fared better. I still have one box in my freezer. I just can’t make myself eat it even though I love love LOVED it. I still miss it. And yes, I guess my world IS pretty small…

  6. Pingback: Healthy Dinner Meals Zwolle « Recipes for Health

  7. Pingback: Eating Tips » Healthy Frozen Entrees Brands

  8. Pingback: Healthy Diet Immersion « Healthfood Tips

  9. Pingback: Healthy Vegetarian Dinner Meals « Recipes for Health

  10. Pingback: buy you a drank lyrics rap genius | Buy Online Store

  11. Pingback: Health Food Zhulian  | About Food and Diet

  12. Pingback: Health Food Zhulian « Recipes for Health

  13. Fantastic site you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get advice from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

