Sausage & Zucchini Fried Rice

I’ve been sick for a week now, battling a nasty cold bug. Today is the first day I’ve made anything in the kitchen that is decent enough for regular people’s consumption. Despite not being able to taste much yet, I felt that I can finally stomach some solid food. If I am not writing coherently, just bear with me for a while.

A peek out the window at noon revealed some fat snowflakes falling from the sky. Hrmmpphh.. a little too early I thought, it’s only November 16, for goodness sakes. We’re gonna get more snow tonight, lake effect snow anyway, but it’s enough to make my world looks like the inside of a snow globe already. AND we barely had autumn yet! We’re definitely not running out to the grocery store to buy anything today. So I found some zucchini in the crisper and some vegetarian Taiwanese sausage in the freezer. Luckily, we bought some eggs last week, so I had decided to make fried rice for today.

I was sure that everyone knew how to make fried rice, until I met my husband. I suppose it is quite daunting to figure out the combination of ingredients are best for fried rice. As a general rule, I think leftovers or ingredients that won’t turn soggy upon cooking are usable for fried rice.  I usually prefer to cook my proteins first (separately if you are using more than one type of protein) and put to the side until the fried rice/noodle dish is almost complete. I then re-introduce the cooked proteins into the wok just prior to seasoning. Eggs are an exception.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups of cooked rice, fluffed with a fork or a pair of chopsticks (leftovers are best but allow at least a few hours to cool the rest if no leftovers are available)
  • 1 zucchini, cubed into 1cm square pieces
  • 2 Taiwanese sausages, cubed into 1cm square pieces
  • 2 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 tsp of seasalt, or to taste
  • 1 tsp of white pepper, or to taste

Method

  1. Heat 2 tbsp of oil in a non-stick wok. Pan fry the sausages until they turn a little brown. Reserve on the side.
  2. Add another 2 tbsp of oil into the wok. Cook the garlic and zucchini until they start to soften a little.
  3. Add fluffed rice to the wok. Combine thoroughly. Add browned sausage back into the wok.
  4. Make a circle in the middle of the wok. Add 2 tbsp of oil in the circle and pour the beaten eggs in.
  5. Scramble the eggs in the center of the wok without mixing the rice in yet.
  6. When the 70% of the eggs begin to solidify, combine the rice into the eggs and mix thoroughly.
  7. Season with salt, white pepper and vegetable seasoning if preferred. I use Poloku brand.

4 responses to “Sausage & Zucchini Fried Rice

  1. hope you feel better soon xo

  2. Hi Petrina.. thanks for your well wishes!

  3. make nasi briyani oni lar….

  4. hmm i should, i hv some raisins, almonds and basmati rice…

Leave a Reply

