Malaysian Onde-Onde

I made this well-known Nyonya dessert to be shared with my fellow Malaysians at the Malaysian Association of Michigan (MAM) members this morning. This was made last night and it was a lot better. I made the mistake of refrigerating it overnight but I nuked it in the microwave for 45 second and it was fine.Remember to let it sit in room temperature for a few minutes before consuming after nuking it or else you will burn your tongue with boiling gula melaka oozing out from them.

I found many recipes only but I chose this one because I did not have to boil, peel and mash sweet potatoes. I also found that the tapioca starch in this recipe also gave it the gumminess it require. Also, I have to call this Malaysian onde-onde because I found several versions from Indonesia that contains kacang hijau (mung bean) instead of gula melaka (palm sugar). Back when I was just a kid, I knew this as buah melaka.

This recipe was not difficult, but it was just time consuming kneading it to the right consistency. I also added 2 tbsp of water while kneading it because it was too dry, but I suppose it’s just the season and temperature right now. I also did not have pandan leaves (screwpine leaves) but I did have some pandan coloring and emultion. It was close enough, I’m not gonna complain. The next time I make this I will try to make them smaller, the dough thinner but not puncture the dough with the sharp edges of the chopped gula melaka😛

Original recipe source: Lily’s Wai Sek Hong

Ingredients:

  • 270 g glutinous rice flour
  • 55 g tapioca flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 200 ml water
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1/2 tsp pandan paste
  • A few drops green colouring (if desired)
  • 1/2 grated coconut, mixed with a pinch of salt, or
  • 150g of fine unsweetened coconut flakes (dessicated is fine too)
    Filling (combine):
  • 100g gula Melaka or palm sugar
  • 1 tbsp soft brown sugar

Method:

  1. Boil together the tapioca flour, oil and 200 ml water over low heat. Keep stirring till only 3/4 cooked. Allow mixture to turn transparent.
  2. Pour the tapioca mixture immediately into the glutinous rice flour in a large bowl. Stir till well absorbed and gradually add in the pandan paste, salt and green food coloring.
  3. Stir well and knead to form a firm smooth dough. If dough is too soft , add a little glutinous flour. I had to add a bit of water to knead all the flour in successfully.
  4. Divide dough into small pieces and form 1 inch size balls. Flatten each piece, put half a teaspoon of filling in the centre and roll into onde-onde balls.
  5. Drop the onde-onde into boiling water. Reduce heat to medium. When the balls are cooked they will float. Continue to cook for another 2 mins to dissolve the sugar and make it syrupy.
  6. Scoop up the onde-onde with a perforated ladle, dab ladle over dry cloth and then toss onde onde in grated coconut or coconut flakes.
  7. Repeat with the rest of the dough, or make them all ahead and then cook them all in a few batches. Some of the sugar may melt and seep through but it’s ok.

19 responses to “Malaysian Onde-Onde

  1. eh.. i want i want.. might try to make this this coming weekend.. we made bacon n spinach quiche this weekend.. n it was easy..

  2. ooo send me recipe la… and the bibimbap recipe too

  3. eh.. i dun have the timbang thing la.. wat is 55g? got cups ah??

  4. the bibimbap.. i make it up 1 wor.. most of it say cook lil bit then add sesame oil n salt.. but dun cook until mushy besides spinach.. mine pretty plain then i made ti with boca beef also.. cook with the oyster sauce.. the bok choy i also tambah in.. i think basically is anythign u want ot put in is fine.. because wat really make it interesting is the sauce ma.. mine spicy eh the sauce..

  5. the quiche recipe.. have to modify a lol.. i dont like the taste of the feta in it.. but i think u might liek it.. the recipe also ask for mushroom. n i dun like it.. we made 2 quiche this weekend.. 1 follow recipe, 1 what i like.. but i can send u the recipe n tell u wat i did la.. i prefer my 2nd quiche..

  6. ur kneading thingy.. can use food processor??

  7. no, i use barehands and use knuckles to push the dough, fold, and push, fold and push…

  8. Hi, glad to see you getting busy in the kitchen again🙂 The onde-onde looks delish!

  9. can some1 pls make dorayaki???
    the pau that doraemon always eat….i want pandan/kaya fillings inside

  10. Wow, looks very similar to the local ones but does the grated coconut tasted the same

  11. Thanks, Max… How’s ur new house and life in M’sia?
    Chermaine: I have not thought of making dorayaki but mebbe I’ll make some for Christmas😛
    Mom: Not exactly the same lor cuz it’s dried coconut. The local ones smell and taste better of coz😛

  12. I made it with sweet potato instead of tapioca, unusual but delish too!

  13. Hi Petrina, I’ll try the sweet potato version some day, but I read that if you make the sweet potato ones and fill them with kacang hijau, you can fry them instead… also YUM!

  14. Wow, It looks good. I want to try. I made once before and i used sweet potatoes fillings instead.🙂

  15. I’ve never heard of sweet potato filling… interesting! Actually this reminds me of tong yuen😛

  16. I made this before back in Ozland…and made them a bit bigger than normal. The angmohs found it strange and didn’t really touch them. I guess they didn’t know how to eat it.

    Am dying to make some here but no screwpine leaves and colouring? Forget about it. Europe is not exactly big on colouring.😦

  17. Hi Mabel! the coloring/emulsion I got is the ones that my folks got me from home. It’s Nona brand I think.

  18. I just tried this with pandan leaves juice (blend pandan leaves and water) and 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract. Turned out great but I made the mistake of making a plate full of balls instead of cooking each ball immediately after rolling them. As a result, the balls dried a little and cracks began to form and I ended up with oozy gula melaka. Gah. Mental note to self to not be lazy and cook it immediately the next time.

  19. what a coincidence ! I just tried this today and like Mei, I also used vanilla extract! no pandan as I forgot to buy and it was too late! Mine were rather big- still prefer the recipes with sweet potato though, the dough is easier to handle and fill with gula melaka

    Mabel- I made batches of 10 a go and they were fine- proabbly because its so hot here? We’re set for 38 degrees tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

