Recovering from surgery

I have not told many, but I had a little accident on July 4th while mountain biking whereby I fell and broke my arm. After spending 5 hours at the ER, they broke the news to me. I went back to the hospital’s fracture clinic 7am the next day and the ortho doctor told me that not only that I broke my arm, I CRUSHED the radial head. I had to go through surgery to fix this and I am now recovering from it. The ORIF radial head op took 2 hours, and I spent 2 days at the hospital last week.

I had not been up for many things since then, even checking my e-mail seems arduous at times. Today is the first time that I am able to type this much at the computer.

I miss cooking, doing housechores (yes, it’s true.. I like my place neat and tidy), and simply being myself again. I’m not able to do yoga or any sort of physical activities in the meantime😦 My mom even made me promise her to no lift a finger around the house.  She did pay for a last minute airtix (over $700) for my sister to fly her from Fargo, ND, to help Andy take care of me. My family is the greatest🙂

I have to admit that I felt depressed at times… it’s just that I’m so used to being a busy person. I had plenty of hobbies and interests in life, but now I am dependent on painkillers to help me feel devoid of pain, but that also semi-paralyzes me. I cry a little everytime I have to succumb to the painkillers. I understand that it has only been 1 week since the op, but I can’t help but to feel restless already. I am still trying to figure out what God’s plan is for me amidst all these.

While I was at the hospital. I saw a saying on one of the souvenirs at the giftshop that got me to pontificate. It said, When in trying times, don’t quit trying. This has been my mantra for almost 3 weeks now.

6 responses to “Recovering from surgery

  1. oh dearie. No wonder the blog has been quiet lately.

    Take care and chin up! U will come out of this challenge stronger! =)

  2. Christine, take this time to relax ok. Get well soon !

  3. Hi Min, Daphne… thx for ur encouragements. I will take my time to be a stronger person out of this🙂

  4. I am so sorry to hear the bad news! I know how active you are. I love that you are back! I really enjoy your blog and recipes.

  5. Feel better.🙂

  6. I hope you’re feeling better! (Oh, could you let me know your snail mail addy?)

Leave a Reply

