Spicy Basil Eggplant Stir Fry

I was eager to make more stuff using the herbs that I’ve been growing since a few weeks ago. I’ve transplanted them into planter boxes and biggerr containers, but they are not looking too good. The basil looked especially yellow and weak. I got worried and went out to buy plant food and I’ve also been bugging Andy to go pick up some compost from the local recycling drop-off, but I don’t I’ll see that bag of compost until the first snowflake hits ground, hrrmmppphh!!

We’re going away to Mexico for 8 days on Monday, so we’ve been trying to use up all the vegetables that’s been sitting in the fridge for a while. This Thai inspired dish is a result of pure creativity, LOL! Use as much garlic and cili padi (bird’s eye chilli) that you want in this dish😛

Ingredients

  • 2 Asian eggplant, cut to 2 inch long by 1/4 inch thick pieces
  • handful of basil leaves, chopped
  • Handful of curry leaves, removed from stems
  • Garlic, minced
  • Cili padi, minced
  • Vegetable seasoning (e.g. Po Lo Ku brand)
  • Salt
  • White pepper powder
  • Sugar

Method

  1. Heat 5T of oil in a wok. Add minced garlic, cili padi, curry and basil leaves to the oil and fry until fragrant. Becareful not to burn the garlic.
  2. Add eggplant to the wok and cook until translucent and soft. Add more oil if necessary. Eggplants are notorious for soaking up oil, like sponges, but don’t use too much oil because when it’s cooked, it will excrete the oil back out.
  3. Season with vegetable seasoning, salt, pepper and sugar to taste.

4 responses to “Spicy Basil Eggplant Stir Fry

  1. happy holidays Christine !

  2. Eggplant and Basil? Nice one!

  3. hi Christine – my basil was wilting too until the weather started getting warmer🙂 Come summer your basil will be much healthier!

  4. Petrina, I tossed out my basil plant because I did not prune the flowers off, resulting in bitter leaves. I will have to get a new plant in the spring😦

Leave a Reply

