Being a vegetarian can help save our world!

With this being a vegetarian food blog, I ought to share this with my readers.

“Your beef patty is actually worse on the environment then your neighbours SUV. According to a 2006 United Nation’s Food and Agriculture Organization report, almost 18% of the earth’s greenhouse gas emissions comes from the international meat industry.

The main reason? Poop. Dirty, nasty poop. And farts. Cow farts, that is. Nitrous Oxide is released from a cow’s poop while methane is released with its flatulence. Methane has 23 times the effect on the environment that carbon has, while nitrous oxide is 296 times greater. Yikes!

As of 2001 (yes i know thats 7 years ago) the cattle, sheep and goat population was 3.3 billion and the numbers were rising fast.

According to researchers at the University of Chicago, by simply becoming a vegetarian or vegan, you could dramatically reduce your carbon footprint by almost one and a half tonnes.

According to Canwest News Service “a meat-based diet requires seven times more land than a plant-based diet. Livestock production is responsible for more climate change gasses than all the motor vehicles in the world.”

Source

5 responses to “Being a vegetarian can help save our world!

  1. In 1970 my wife and I made a New Year’s resolution to try vegetarianism for a week too. We have kept the resolution to this day. In the 70s we also satrted writing about the social effects ofa met based diet. What’s more it started a new career for us – writing vegetarian cookbooks – as Nikki is both a nutritionist and trained in recipe development. Anyone interested in easy, reliable, time and taste tested, nutritionist approved (and developed), 1300 vegetarian recipes should take a look at “American Wholefoods Cuisine.” In print for more than thirty years it is considered the “vegetarian Joy of Cooking” by both gourmet and health writers.

  2. I can’t turn vegetarian (I love meat too much)…but would eating less meat help? :S

  3. Hi Mabel! Thanks for stopping by. I think some studies show that if you cut down your meat consumption by 1 day a week it would do quite good for this world already🙂

  4. I have been vegetarian for 5 months, which may seem like a short time but to a 17 year old kid its ages. I feel great though. Aside from all of the spiritual guilt that I feel has been lifted I feel healthier(now that I sorta know how to eat healthy) Reading this makes me feel even better about it all. My goal today now is to peruse the internet and become a better vegetarian. So far I have learned that frozen vegetables contain more nutrients If anybody has any tips for me send me an email at guywithhats@yahoo.com

  5. Hi, i just turning into vegeterian, any vegeterian recipes ? =)

Leave a Reply

