Wilton Course 3: Tiered Cake – Brush Embroidery

 

This is the cake that I made tonight. I was supposed to make the flowers out of royal icing or buttercream but I was gone last weekend so the flowers will not be dry enough for cake assembly. The objective of the class was to learn how to tier the cake, so I did some research online for some designs.

Basically, I covered the cakes with fondant and the transferred the rose pattern onto the cake using piping gel. Then I piped buttercream on the gel and used a wet brush to paint the edges in. This is called brush embroidery technique. We learned this in our first class for Course 3. I’ve read that you should use royal icing instead, but my teacher taught us using buttercream. The only difference is that royal icing dries hard.

I used silk flowers between the tiers and used a ribbon to cover the imperfection of the fondant edge. I’m still having trouble getting the fondant to lay right at the edges. The ribbons were “glued” onto the cake by piping a line or a few dots of buttercream onto the cake. We’ll get to make beautiful flowers like these next week in the Fondant & Gum Paste class…

I love this cake so much, and the pink roses are the same that I’ve used at my wedding. I wish that this was my wedding cake instead😛

10 responses to “Wilton Course 3: Tiered Cake – Brush Embroidery

  1. Hi Christine, the cake is beautiful..can’t really see the brush embroidery though.. I took a short course at Taylor’s college last few months and learn something like this too..can we exchange links ? Thanks.

  2. Hi Min,
    The brush embroidery is very subtle on this one because of the complicated rose outline. In fact, just the outline would be OK too but brushing them a bit gives them a soft, billowy look😛 Yes you can link my blog, and I’ll link yours too😀

  3. gorgeous!

  4. Thanks, Petrina!

  5. that’s SO beautiful!!!
    : )

    thanks for joining the cookie carnival, btw!

  6. So pretty! I was thinking of making our wedding cake ourselves too but FH said I will look so stressed that he rather me relax and let someone take care of it. And now I’m feeling a little jittery having someone to do it! hahaha.

  7. Daphne,
    your FH is right, let someone handle that unsurmountable amt of stress! just be a bride and enjoy the day🙂

  8. With havin so much content do you ever run into
    any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My website has a lot of
    unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any techniques to help reduce content from being ripped off? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  9. Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thank you

  10. At this time it appears like Drupal is the top blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

Leave a Reply

