Soy Sprout Stir Fry

My paternal grandpa used to cook for us quite a bit when I was little. I remember looking forward to dinner at my Ah Ma’s and Ah Yeh’s house because they put a lot of effort in cooking a full 8 or 9 course meal for every reunion dinner. Ah Ma passed away last September and I have fond memories of her specialty dishes until today. Even though we rarely have those reunion dinners when she and my Ah Yeh were weakened by old age, my family and I still talk about the usual dishes that they would make whenever we go to visit them.

This dish is not as elaborate as the 8 Treasure Roast Duck or Jumbo Shrimps that they make for the reunion dinners, but rather it’s one of the regular items on my Ah Yeh’s menu for lunch. I would walk to my grandparent’s house when I have to “stay back” after school to wait for my Dad to take me home. My Ah Yeh knew that if I saw this dish on the dining table, he would give me a bowl of rice and a big cup of Chinese tea to chow down while I wait for my Dad. Although the version that I’m used to having was made with real pork, whenever I see these soy sprouts I must get them because of the fond memories that I have of my Ah Yeh.

To make this easy stir fry, simply fry sliced ginger and pork (soy or meat kind) until fragrant and semi-browned. Then toss cleaned soy sprouts (rinsed and tail ends removed) into the wok and cook for a few minutes until the sprouts start to soften. Turn the heat down and season with soy sauce, salt, dashes of white pepper and some vegetable seasoning or sugar if desired. Turn off the heat and thicken the sauce with cornstarch and cold water mixure.  Best eaten with a big bowl of hot white rice.

4 responses to “Soy Sprout Stir Fry

  1. Copy into my recipe book!!!

  2. LOL! SS u’re funny…!!

  3. ah… i love this! especially with salted fish.

  4. I’ve never had this with salted fish, only with the usual mung beans sprout… I’ll try it next time🙂

Leave a Reply

