Cinnamon Honey Grapefruit

I went to the grocery store last night, and something struck my nostrils. The grapefruits were really fragrant so I had to buy some. I have days whereby I just crave a certain type of fruit or vegetables. I guess that’s how Mother Nature tells us what our body needs during the various seasons. Grapefruits are high in Vitamin C, and many people were sick at my office recently.

I have read that grapefruits tastes better when broiled in the oven with some honey or brown sugar and cinnamon, so I decided that I should try that this morning. I read that the flesh should be ‘loosened; from the skin prior to cooking, so I ran a serrated knife around the insides of the halved grapefruit. I spread a teaspoon of honey on the top of the grapefruit and placed it in the oven, flesh side up for a few minutes until the flesh started to brown. I sprinkled a dash of cinnamon and it was ready to go with my cup of chai tea.

Some people really dislike grapefruits because they are sour. I don’t mind them so much because they are kind of like pumelos, which reminds me of Mid-Autum Festivals back in Malaysia. Although cooking it in the oven for a few minutes with honey does not take all the sourness away, it was still quite good, for me anyway. I think organic grapefruits would be sweeter, though.🙂

4 responses to “Cinnamon Honey Grapefruit

  1. I am a big fan of grapefruit. I can eat 2 big grapefruits per day.🙂 It is an interesting recipe. I will give a try.🙂 red meat and white meat, which one will go better with this recipe?

  2. I ate this as my breakfast, if you were to add grapefruit to meat, I would think either white meat or fish, since it is a citrus fruit like lemon and lime…

  3. erm…CL..i mean…red grapefruit or white grapefruit..:P

  4. LOL! I don’t think the color of the flesh matters… Although I’ve only seen this done with ruby red grapefruits🙂

Leave a Reply

