Chinese New Year Peanut Cookies

 

I love Chinese New Year. In fact, one thing that I dread most for the 15 days of festivities including the days leading up to them and after that is the amount of delicacies that we have lying around the house and every relatives’ and friends’ house. Just like Christmas foodies, you only get to enjoy them once a year. It’s only this year that I’ve been ambitious enough to even begin to think about making cookies for Chinese New Year, albeit being quite homesick during times like these.

Anyway, I haven’t been able to find milk powder yet, so I’ve resorted to a recipe that I found online that doesn’t require this ingredient. You can find the original recipe here.

I was only able to find “blistered unsalted peanuts” from Trader Joe’s so I used them anyway. I didn’t realize that it already had quite a bit of oil on them when I proceed to blend them into fine powder, only to find them turning into a thick peanut butter paste, but yet pliable. In the end, I had to add a few handfuls of flour when trying to make little balls but I think they turned out OK. Taste wise, I think I would add a bit more salt to them in my next batch. They do melt in your mouth and you end up having a mouthful of peanut butter before you know it. I think I did OK for my first time🙂

Ingredients

  •  200g ground peanut powder
  • 200g flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 100g icing sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 100g – 150g coarsely chopped peanut bits (or more, also accomplished in the food processor)
  • 100g peanut oil or more/corn oil
  • 1 egg yolk lightly beaten with 1 tsp water (egg wash)

Method

  1. Put 200g peanuts in a wok and dry fry over low heat until crunchy. Remove the thin membrane. (Skip this step if you are using blistered peanuts like me.)
  2. Blend peanuts into fine powder.
  3. Mix sifted flour +  baking powder, ground peanut powder, sifted icing sugar and salt in a big mixing bowl till well combined. (I put all the these into the food processor and used the plastic hook attachment to blend until it was nicely combined).
  4. Toss in the chopped peanut bits and mix well.
  5. Add in 100g peanut oil or more and mix till a piable dough is formed. (I did all these in the food processor and then took it out to knead with my hands with sprinkles of extra flour. Coat the surface with flour prior to placing dough on top.)
  6. Shape as you wish. (The recipe owner used plastic bottle caps for this. I just rolled them into little balls and place half a peanut on top for decoration.)
  7. Apply egg wash.
  8. Bake on a greased and lined tray at 165C for 20 minutes or till golden brown.

2 responses to “Chinese New Year Peanut Cookies

  1. Looks fabulous – if you bring them in here, they will be gone in 60 seconds!

  2. Denifinitely look likes those selling in the supermarket. Well done!

Leave a Reply

