Stuffed Tomatoes with Greek Tabouleh

I had been in love with Middle Eastern food since I first landed in North America over 8 years ago. Being a vegetarian, having so many choices at a Middle Eastern restaurant feels like gastronomical heaven to me. When I first had tabouleh salad, I had no idea that it was a bunch of chopped up parsley. The flavour was so refreshing (probably because of the lemon juice) that you can feel it’s cleansing effects as you eat them. I have no problem eating a whole plate of tabouleh on its own. I’m pretty sure that it’s choked with vitamins too, which I desperately need because I’ve been bitten by a stubborn cold bug since last week. Andy loved it too, to my big surprise. I didn’t think that he would be a fan of parsley, especially since it made up the bulk of our dinner tonight. Oh well, I’m glad that he’s eating well with me🙂

Tabouleh salad can be used to fill a pita with grilled chicken or falafels to make a killer sandwich🙂 .

Greek Tabouleh
(this recipe makes  about 6 cups, enough for a party or for the whole week…)

Ingredients

  •  2 bunches flat leaf parsley, chopped finely (makes about 4 cups in the food processor)
  • 3 roma tomatoes, diced
  • 1 cup cooked wholewheat couscous/bulghur (cook according to package)
  • 1/2 red onions (if desired), chopped
  • 1/2 cup mint leaves, chopped finely
  • 1/2 cucumber, diced
  • 1/2 cups feta, cubed or crumbled
  • 3 lemons, zested and juiced
  • 8 tbsp  extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp sumac
  • Salt to taste

Method

  1. The original tabouleh recipes call for bulghur but I opt to use wholewheat couscous instead, just because I tend to have couscous stocked up in the pantry more often than bulghur.
  2. Discard hard stems from parsley and mint leaves. Chopped finely and place in a large mixing bowl. I find that using a food processor had saved me tons of time when making this salad.
  3. Add diced cucumber, tomatoes and onions to the parsley and mint in the bowl. Mix thoroughly.
  4. Add feta if desired. Traditional tabouleh does not include feta cheese. I just like how the feta gives the right amount of saltiness to this recipe.
  5. Add olive oil, lemon zest and juice and sumac if you have any. I think sumac smells like the Chinese dried plum powder (suen mui fun).
  6. Season with salt to taste.

Stuffed Tomatoes

I basically cut a part of the top of the tomatoes on the vine, emptied the insides, and filled them up with tabouleh. Drizzle the tomatoes with olive oil and bake in 400 deg F oven for about 10 minutes.

3 responses to “Stuffed Tomatoes with Greek Tabouleh

  1. OMG my dear you really have the cooking traits from dad, yeh yeh and mah mah. They are just such good cooks naturally. You and Cat are just like them. Once you guys have tasted, you guys then know what to do. I am so blessed with all of you around me because I don’t have to take the trouble to think about food. Just eat whatever is on the table and definitely it will be delicious because I have fabulous cooks around me. So I just eat on. hahhahahha

  2. Cat and I were forced to learn how to cook because both you and dad were busy working. Maine is different, she has our auntie next door to feed her when she’s hungry, or you guys just go out to eat (more often than when we were home).😛

  3. I came across this recipe when searching for stuffed Greek Tomatoes and it sounds absolutely wonderful! I’m not a vegetarian but I do try and eat like one 4 days a week.

    I like the straight forward directions and tips you give in this recipe. I will be visiting your site when I attempt new dishes or when I need some inspiration! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

