Spicy Salsa Baked Bean Soup

This is utterly stupid, but the I was going to make Trader Joe’s Vegetarian Black Bean Soup but I had accidentally bought a can of organic BAKED BEANS instead of black beans, but it was too late to stop cooking so I went ahead to make my soup anyway. Beans are beans, whatever. Plus, I’ve been bitten by the cold bug, so I’m craving for something soupy and sour.  I’ll post Trader Joe’s original recipe first, and then I’ll share my modified recipe.

  • 2 cups of diced onions
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 (15oz) can black beans, undrained
  • 1 cup chunky salsa
  • 2 tbsp fresh lime juice
  • Plain yogurt

OK, here’s how mine was put together, and I gotta tell you, this is the AWESOMEST soup I’ve made in a long time. I might just keep this recipe for our office’s annual chili cookoff… hehe…

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1/2 chopped large sweet onion (2 cups of chopped celery if prefer to not use onion)
  • 1 (15oz) can baked beans with sauce
  • 2 tsp English curry powder (because I didn’t have cumin)
  • 2 cups chopped tomatoes (because I prefer using fresh ingredients whenever I can, so no pre-made salsa for me)
  • 3 chopped jalapenos
  • 1/2 tsp dried Mexican oregano
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder 
  • 1 juiced fresh lime (more if you like it sour)
  • Salt to season
  • Chopped cilantro for garnish (more to cook in soup if preferred)
  •  Plain yogurt

Method

  1. Saute onions in olive oil until semi-soft.
  2. Add curry powder or cumin, Mexican oregano and jalapenos and cook until soft.
  3. Pour in baked beans and its sauce, tomatoes and vegetable broth.
  4. Stir to combine and simmer for 20 minutes.
  5. Turn off the heat and add in lime juice.
  6. Season with salt and garlic powder.
  7. Garnish with a dollop of yogurt and cilantro.

Leave a Reply

