Yeay! Fresh produce in Windsor at last!

I went to meet up with Danielle Piche from Maple Syrup and Poutine blog and gang last night at our very first Cooking Club meeting and I tossed the question about getting fresh local and preferably organic produce around town. Everyone had something to say about the Windsor Market and I was completely lost.

Luckily for me, Danielle had written about the 2 markets in Windsor on Food Network whereby I could gleefully shop away to stock up my crispers in my fridge.

Fresh produce is extremely important to moi, a vegetarian. Since moving to Windsor in November I had been cringing at the sight of semi-limp state of vegetables at the grocery store. These sorry vegetables even cost about 30% more than in the U.S.

Anyway, here are the two places where you could probably find me on Saturday mornings from now on…   

http://www.windsormarketsquare.com/

http://www.downtownwindsorfarmersmarket.ca/ 
(from June 1 until October 31 only) 

2 responses to “Yeay! Fresh produce in Windsor at last!

  1. Did you get a chance to check our FieldGate Organics? You should talk to Laura…she will special order items for you and will you tell you what’s local and what’s not.

  2. Hi Jordana! No, I haven’t been to the market yet. Is FieldGate there? I’ll look out for Laura🙂

Leave a Reply

