Orange & Chocolate Mini Cheesecakes


(I’ll post a picture of my version when I have a successful “pretty” one)

This is a modified version of the original recipe from here . I made this cheesecake on Sunday, but I didn’t have a pan big enough for the water bath, so they rose too high and then sunk. Otherwise, they taste amazing!! My recipe fills 1 and half muffin pans. I will make this again when I have a casserole dish large enough to fit my muffin pans. I also lined my muffin pan instead.

1.5 cups finely crushed chocolate wafers (I use crushed Oreo cookies)
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 cup ricotta cheese
8 ounces cream cheese
1 cup sugar, plus 2 tablespoons
Zest of 3 oranges
1 egg
Special equipment: muffin pans

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Combine the crushed chocolate wafers and the melted butter. Place a tightly packed teaspoon of the wafer mixture into each mini-muffin cup and press down firmly.

In a food processor combine the ricotta cheese, cream cheese, 3/4 cup of the sugar, half of the orange zest, and the egg. Blend until smooth. Lightly grease the sides of mini muffin tin with cooking spray. Fill the cups with about 1 1/2 tablespoons of the cheesecake mixture. Place the muffin pans in a baking dish and pour enough hot water in the baking dish to come halfway up the side of the muffin pans. Bake for 25 minutes. Transfer the muffin pans to a wire rack and let cool for 30 minutes. Refrigerate for 15 minutes. Use a small knife to gently pop the cheesecakes out of the cups.

Just before serving, combine the remaining orange zest with the remaining sugar. Top each individual cheesecake with about 1/4 teaspoon of the orange zest mixture and serve. Serves 6. May be prepared one day before serving. Take out of refrigerator a couple of hours before serving to bring them down to room temperature.

2 responses to “Orange & Chocolate Mini Cheesecakes

  1. This cupcake looks sooooo pretty. Salivating now!! Maybe I will try the recipe, in a couple of months’ time, that is🙂

  2. Thanks, Christine… (so weird, like calling myself!) I noticed that the oven temperature should be lower for mine, and I’d check the cakes 5 mins prior to the time given by the recipe, because every oven differs quite a bit. You just gonna hv to try a few things in the oven to figure this out, or get an oven thermometer… which I’m too cheap to get at the moment😛

Leave a Reply

