Vegetarian Kerabu Meehoon

I’ve wanted to try this spicy + sweet + sour recipe that I’ve whipped up several months ago for quite some time now, but I wasn’t able to gather all of the ingredients until today. A friend from the Malaysian bridal forum had posted a non-vegetarian version of this and I can just feel my saliva glands activating as I read her recipe. Because the regular version called for dried shrimps and shallots, and also a special ingredient called “laksa flower” which I cannot find here in Detroit/Windsor, I had to be extra creative when it comes to substituting. As usual, I never measure anything, so I would encourage those who try my recipe to adjust to suit their taste.

I found out that “kerabu” simply means “salad”, Thai version. The ingredients are quite similar to my Mango Salsa recipe that I’ve posted wayyy back when I started this blog. Although some may say that this is a Thai recipe, but I prefer to associate it with my home country, Malaysia πŸ˜€

As usual, I never measure anything, so I would encourage those who try my recipe to adjust to suit their taste.

  1. Cook beehoon (rice vermicelli) in hot water. I prefer pouring boiled water on the softened beehoon that has been pre-soaked in tap water in a bowl or container rather than cooking them in a pot over the heat. This always results in a wad of annoying strands of noodles. Drain and set aside.
  2. Chop the following and set aside:
    • Tomatoes
    • Fresh basil leaves
    • Cilantro
    • Cili padi (bird’s eye chili) or “Thai hot” chili
  3. Deep fry the following ingredient and set aside:
    • Sliced firm tofu (to replace the real jumbo shrimps that you can get in Malaysia)
    • Vegetarian dried “shrimp” or diced vegetarian ham
  4. Pan roast the following and set aside:
    • Vegetarian belacan powder (until fragrant but not burnt)
    • Coconut flake (until semi browned)
  5. Because I cannot find fresh lemon grass here, I bought a tube of lemon grass paste and stir fried my deep-fried tofu in it, since the tofu has no taste anyway. Set this aside.
  6. Season the noodle salad with the following to taste:
    • Soy sauce
    • Lime/lemon juice
    • Lemon zest
    • Sambal paste (I have homemade ones in jars that I brought from home). Otherwise, just cook blended red chilies with belacan powder and sugar a head of time.
    • Salt, pepper, and sugar if needed. (My coconut flakes were sweetened, so there was no need for sugar)
    • Fish sauce, if using. (Generally, my substitute for fish sauce were soy sauce + sugar + a drop of seaweed paste for fishy-ness, or soy sauce + sushi rice vinegar + sugar).
  7. Toss all the ingredients that has been set aside in a big bowl with the cooked beehoon. You can reserve some of the coconut flakes to sprinkle on the salad just prior to serving.
  8. Serve chilled or at room temperature.
7 responses to “Vegetarian Kerabu Meehoon

  1. It looks really yummy…make me miss home…air liur dropping …:P

  2. Thanks, SS. This dish is really yummy and if my stomach was big enough, I would eat it all by myself!! πŸ˜›

  3. wah, so good tasting I am sure. What is the time to prep until it hits the table? Can you post that with your next yummy creation. I am very curious.

  4. Thanks, Mel! I think with this recipe, from chopping stuff to dishing it out, it took around 30-40 mins. Definitely under an hour cuz I would die from starvation since I made this after work. πŸ˜›

  5. I will definitely try this! To be honest, i haven’t had this dish before even in M’sia.

  6. Pingback: Beehoon Kerabu « Dinner Lately…

  7. Wow, what a great creation of yours. Send more of your yummy recipes. Would like to learn more. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

