Buttercream Roses, etc. (My Birthday Cake)

I had been super busy during the holidays, with visits to my ILs in Toronto, and my sister visiting me. I have completed the Wilton 1 Cake Deco course, and the last cake happened to be my own birthday cake tongue.gif I reused the “1st Birthday” candle for every birthday just so that there is a candle to blow out😛

The roses were too soft because the buttercream was used to practice throughout the course, and we had less than 20 mins to decorate our cakes. The other decorations on the cake are drop flowers, sweet pea flowers, and leaves. Will have to do better next time with the right buttercream consistency. The cake was German Chocolate mix, but I didn’t want to go out to buy caramel and pecans, so I used kaya and coconut flakes instead😛

Oh and my friends in Toronto surprised me with a cake as well, so I re-used the “Happy Birthday” sign on my cake.. LOL!

And then Andy surprised with 28 red roses on the day of my birthday! BTW, I turned 28 on the 28th of December 😀

6 responses to “Buttercream Roses, etc. (My Birthday Cake)

  1. It looks FABULOUS! Much better than you described–give yourself some credit.😉 Soft icing or not, the cake is beautiful! You really do have a talent for this!

  2. Thanks, Stephanie! I’ll be moving on to using Royal Icing for the Wilton 2 course😛

  3. Hello Young’in

    28 years- you are so young….Great cake, i love the multi colour roses. How do you do that?
    Great 1st birthday cake. It look. Was it the royal icing in the cake itself?

  4. Thanks, Mel! I have not used royal icing yet, but it’s only for decoration because it gets very hard. Decoration made from royal icing can be kept for years. The roses were made by striping the piping bag with color, so that only part of the icing coming out of the tip is colored.

  5. Happy Belated Birthday… keep up the great work. Can’t wait to see the royal icing decorations from the next course.

  6. Hi Ade! Welcome back, and thank you! I’ll check out your vacay pics soon!

Leave a Reply

