Sweet Potato and Cucumber Salad with Lemon Yogurt Sauce

First course I made for my Andy’s birthday dinner… and I sliced a big chunk of my finger and couldn’t cook the rest sad.gif. All big chefs are bound to have kitchen accidents right? I chopped off half of my nail this time, gonna take at least 2 months to grow back .. *sob*sob* Anyway, this is the salad… the sauce is really good for almost evertyhing I think😛

This is an adapted recipe from this site.

Ingredients

  • 1 medium sweet potato, washed and finely sliced into rounds
  • 1/2 lebanese cucumber, finely sliced into rounds
  • 1 tbsp black mustard seeds, toasted
  • 1 large handful parsley (or mint) leaves, washed and chopped
  • 300ml natural yogurt
  • Small lemon, juiced

Method

  1. Toast black mustard seeds in oven @ 350 degree Fahrenheit, or dry-fry in frypan, until fragrant.
  2. Season sweet potato rounds with olive oil, salt & pepper. Roast in 400 deg F oven for 30 mins or until the edges start to brown. Allow to cool and toss gently with cucumber, half of the toasted mustard, salt and freshly ground black pepper.
  3. Finely chop mint / parsley and add to yogurt and lemon juice in a small bowl. Add in the rest of the toasted mustard seed. Season well with salt and pepper.
  4. Place salad on plates and drizzle with yogurt dressing to serve or serve dressing in a bowl as an Indian-style accompaniment.

6 responses to “Sweet Potato and Cucumber Salad with Lemon Yogurt Sauce

  1. thanks for dinner baby

  2. Looks yummilicious! but u got me imagining the worst thanks to ur description of the accident😦 Be careful next time yeah.

  3. Oh and Happy Birthday to your guy Andy. He’s one lucky chap!

  4. Thanks, Chris. It was worth it I guess.. LOL.
    The first comment was left by Andy logged in as me.. LOL

  5. I know what that pain of nail cut is like, my accident at work made me for a whole new nail to grow in – 8 months to do so. Almost enough time to generate a baby. Great job on the amazing looking food. I love your food essays.

  6. Happy Birthday to the lucky guy!! Can I tell u when my birthday is… feel free coming over and cook for me! hehee! ~muacks~

Leave a Reply

