Egg Tofu with King Oyster Mushroom Sauce

After a weekend of hearty Western meals, I’ve decided that I should go back to Oriental cooking, plus the vegetables from last week’s grocery trip are starting to rot by now. This dish is very basic. The egg tofu is sold in tubes at Asian grocery stores and are sliced to 1/4″ thick and deep fried. Place the tofu on paper towel to soak up excess oil while the sauce is being made.

For the sauce, I simply stir fried some mushrooms (had king oyster and white mushrooms sitting around) with diced baby carrots. Mixed peas would do the trick too. I used vegetarian oyster sauce, water, salt, pepper and a pinch of sugar to make the sauce. Thicken the sauce with corn starch that had been diluted in cold water.

6 responses to “Egg Tofu with King Oyster Mushroom Sauce

  1. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I love Tofu esp Japanese type. Will give this a try as it sounds simple enough.

  2. You can have so much versatility with this dish. Even a curry sauce or egg-flower with mixed peas sauce would be good as well with this dish.

  3. You are just so creative! I just follow recipes & have to be simple too.

  4. yay! I’ve been googling for an egg tofu recipe cos we found one at the oriental supermarket, and all the other ones have minced meat in it!:\

    so i’m going to try this one today😀

  5. Hi Hanna! Glad that you have found my recipe. I hope you liked it🙂

  6. Hi, i just found this page. It is really interesting because I love chinese food. and the good thing is its halal and easy.

Leave a Reply

