Sweets!

OK, I don’t eat them for dinner, but my sweet tooth is usually activated by all the sodium consumed during dinner. So I pacify my cravings with a healthy dose of dark chocolate😛 Since I can’t always afford fancy, gourmet chocolates like Godiva, I settle for these.

Here are my favourites:

Hershey’s Sticks (particularly the dark chocolate one)

 

(60 calories, 3g fat, 15mg sodium, 7g carbs, 0g fiber, 6g sugar, <1g protein = 1 Point)

With portion control being the new trend, exciting new products are popping up left and right. My latest fun find is the Hershey’s Sticks. These chocolate candy treats aren’t diety in any way, but because there’s not much chocolate to ’em (they’re about 5 inches long but just a half inch wide!), they don’t clock in very high in the calorie and fat departments. As far as taste is concerned, these elegant little caramel-filled sweeties are completely AWESOME. They also come in Caramel, Milk Chocolate, and Mint Milk Chocolate (but the caramel-filled ones are the best). IMHO, they are an ideal way to satisfy a chocolate craving without doing too much damage. Normally, one stick puts me back in a happy place and there isn’t a need for seconds, unless it’s PMS time.

Pros: They’re easy to find, perfect to keep in your purse or desk, have just 60 calories, and they taste fantastic!

Cons: They’re just regular candy bars masquerading as low cal chocolate.  And chocoholics might use this as an excuse to gobble up a few of these at a time.

Chocolate Dipped Altoid Mints (the peppermint kind is better than the cinnamon one)

Damn it! They couldn’t come up with these earlier!!! I really would have given these out as wedding favours, they are just soooo good! They totally match my pink and brown theme for the wedding too😦

Sometimes new ideas are so obvious you wonder why they weren’t thought of earlier. Altoids, the curiously strong mint, covered with dark chocolate – it’s one of those things that should have been done a long time ago.

Hershey’s Kisses Special Dark Chocolate

It’s hard to resists getting a bag of these when they are on sale! I can usually pop 3 or 4 of them at one go😛

One response to “Sweets!

  1. Although I’m not a fan of dark chocolate, my business partner thinks that there is nothing finer in life than gourmet dark chocolate. I wish I did enjoy dark chocolate, as the health benefits are much greater.

Leave a Reply

